Rat Forum banner

Help! Rat allergies.

17K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  laughter 
#1 ·
I'm new to rat parenting so please bare with me, but I brought home two female teenage rats this week and one of them is sneezy. :-\
I've determined that she isn't sick, because she is otherwise healthy. I've been checking her breathing frequently and she's not having trouble breathing, has plenty of energy and a good appetite. No porphyrin or discharge, hair looks sleek and shiny. Her cage-mate is fine and she hasn't gotten any better or worse with antibiotics. I'm pretty sure she's allergic to something in the home.

I changed my soap and shampoos to unscented, plus she sneezes even when I haven't been near her in hours. It could be the Aspen bedding, I plan to get her some Yesterday's News today. But if it isn't the bedding, can rats have seasonal allergies? Maybe some pollen I brought in? If it's something besides the bedding what do I do?

Is there a such thing as a rat allergy medicine?

Can I expect this to go away once she's been here for a little while? I saw in the "Rat Sneezing" thread that they sometimes sneeze when they are adjusting to new smells and allergens. I'm really hoping that's the case, though I've had her for almost a week now and she still sneezes every few minutes.

Will my rat ever be able to live without sneezing all the time? She doesn't seem to mind very much, but it breaks my heart every time I hear her sneeze. :'(

Sorry, I know that I'm FREAKING OUT and asking way too many questions, but these are my children! I want them to have the best quality of life that a rat monster can possibly have. Thanks in advance!

See less See more
#2 ·