Hey sewing experts! What do you think about handheld sewing machines?
RatForum.com is the premier Rat Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hey sewing experts! What do you think about handheld sewing machines?

Default Hey sewing experts! What do you think about handheld sewing machines?

Hello all!

I've been thinking about learning some really basic sewing to do some really basic hemming and fixes to some of my fraying clothes, but it would probably also be fun to do some projects (like rattie hammocks!) I don't know if I really want a full sewing machine though, and to be honest, I'm a little nervous about an electric needle moving really fast! So I'm looking into sewing options for a complete beginner.

I was wondering if any sewing experts here might have any thoughts about handheld sewing machines. I looked at some battery powered handheld machines that look nice:
    http://www.amazon.com/Lil-Sew-ZDML-2...sewing+machine

...but I read some reviews about them dropping lots of stitches or the seams being really weak.

I also discovered these little powerless handheld sewing machines that are kind of like staplers:
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=AEIA97JX4LL2S

I love powerless tools! Maybe I'm just silly, but I feel uncomfortable with power tools and stuff... I even prefer a hand-crank drill and a powerless carpet sweeper to a vacuum :] If this little stapler-like machine is any good, I would really love it, but I wonder if they're just cheap and poorly made. Are these any good for small sewing jobs? Do they drop stitches, have weak seams, etc?

Thanks for your advice! :]

2. Remove Advertisements
    Rat Forum
    Advertisements

I was afraid of the needle too but you completely control the speed you can go as fast or slow as you want I would invest in a decent machine the little ones always break.

My Rats:Mei, Artemis, Anana