Rat Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so i am not new to rats but i am new to this situation. I got 3 new rat boys last Saturday(March 21st) From a specialty pet store. The rats come from one of there personal breeders(they say) but they are originally designated as feeders. they are 6-8weeks old which is the youngest i have ever had rats(Normally i adopted older feeders or un-bought store pets that were at least 8 months-1 year)

So three boys named Necco, Butterscotch and Toffee. Currently Butterscotch is sick but i have him taken care of with the vet and under control. Necco is still a bit shy but takes treats from my hand. Then Toffee. Now he shows no signs of aggression but i did notice out of all of them hes more hyper and exploring and more to instigate play fights(no rat has been harmed)

So sunday after getting them i do some little trust treating and he loved the banana mush on a spoon. Later that day i had my hand in layed down for them to sniff. Necco sniffed and went off. Butterscotch sniffed and test nibbled but nothing hard at all just normal stuff, didnt alarm me. Then Toffee is sniffing and test nibbling when he bites! Now it wasn't a deep bite but just barley enough to break the skin and make it bleed a little(about a nice little blood bubble) This has never happened to me with a rat. I've become a bit scared of him exploring my fingers.

I've had 3 of these bites so far, just enough to break the skin and bleed a bubble. Whenever i put my hand in to give treats(never through the bars not even once of course) Necco and Butterscotch sniff, test nibble, have there treat. But Toffee Always test nibbles a bit harder then the other and has made me a bit jumpy. Sometimes he will test nibble and sniff properly but then out of no where a little nip.