Rat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had 8 male mice in a plastic box, last night there were 3 breakouts.

First one I put away the Troublemaker 1. Then 2nd breakout, I put away the Troublemaker 2. Then 3rd breakout, Troublemaker 1 and Troublemaker 2 were fighting each other.. well technically.. Troublemaker 1 was being attacked by Troublemaker 2.. so.. basically, I grabbed wrong troublemaker in the first break out (I think, not sure)

Now... I have read some information on saying that if a male is being put alone for too long, it will start to get even more anti social.. So.. does that mean he will have to be by himself all the time :s ? Sounds pretty depressing..

I don't get why that aggressive one (Troublemaker 2) starts to bite the others. They were fine when I first got them..

By the way, it is my first time having mice! Please help or advice. Thanks a lot in advance.

·
Registered
997 Posts
Wait, are you talking about mice or rats?

I don't know much about mice but for rats just let them have it out. They're establishing dominance and order. The rule generally accepted is: No blood, no foul.

Also, may we get some pictures of the housing? It sounds like you have them in a cheap critter-keeper type tank(which is absolutely unacceptable, very hazardous to both you and the rats' health).

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Are mice and rats different? @[email protected] (Sorry for the stupid question..) I got it from pet store yesterday.

Well.. blood.. there are some blood (don't know if it is from the 1st breakout of 2nd breakout) on the tissues (I put in some tissue strips because I read from About.com that some tissue strips help them for nest.)

I have the plastic box from the pet store for my 2 females. Then.. I didn't know it was too small for all of them.. So I had to set up a temporary home for them in a plastic box that was originally used as storage.

I will go take pictures and post them back.