Rat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm told that my rats are spoiled down to their little twitchy noses...but a few of the levels just seem lonely. I was going to ask for hammocks for christmas and such. I'm a first time rat owner so I'm still learning what rats can and can't have. What else do you think I could give them or is just a few more nap time hammocks good enough?

They seem to like this makeshift hammock I made

·
Registered
89 Posts
I have the same problem. We haven't had our girls all that long and we're learning as we go. I don't have such an awesome cage, though! Our girls would love something like that.

What I've noticed is that changing things up on them now and then is better than trying to give them everything at once. They grow bored with certain games and toys, until they haven't seen it for a few days, then it's quite fun again. Heheh. Do they actually play with and/or use everything in there? What do they like best?

If anything, I do think you could stick a couple more smaller hammocks on the higher levels. Maybe one of those "Grassy Roll-A-Nest" things (our girls love theirs).

All in all, I'm going to be very interested in the suggestions you get from those with actual experience with rats.

·
Registered
2,755 Posts

·
Registered
447 Posts
I take rope and a little home made ball i made and hang it in the cage so when they bump it,it moves they enjoy attacking is until they chew it down!

they also enjoy newspaper. I bought carefresh bedding and they took it out of the litter box and put it into the nest house.

This and cotton and newspaper can keep them busy by hiding bits of it in boxes fabric hammocks and other interesting places!