Rat Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this is my first time posting but this is very improtant I need some advice

on sunday I noticed my oldest girl Sweet Pea bleeding from her vaginal area.
So we took her to the animal hospital but we pretty much paid for an emergency visit for them to tell us to go somwhere else.

the next day we took her to her regular vet and they sugested taking her uterus out.

They started her on antibiotics and now I am noticing no bleeding so I figured it's an infection.

So the surgery was scheduled for tomorrow but I cancelled it and set up an appointment to put her on more antibiotics.

What I need to know is if I really do need the surgery...if the infection might come back...and how serious this might be.

She is acting fine...just as normal. Eating, drinking, chewing on everything as normal.

but this whole thing really freaked me out. I am a relatively new rat owner and I haven't lost one yet so you can see why I'm so worried.
I would love any advice you guys can give me.

thanks

Nikki >.<

·
Registered
3,509 Posts
It could very likely be Pyometra (basically an infection of the uterus, ending in it filling with pus) or (I don't know how common this is) genital mycoplasma (please tell me if I'm wrong, the latter is a guess).

Info on Pyo http://ratguide.com/health/reproductive/pyometra.php

How old is your girl? Many reccommend spaying them to avoid such infections. In girls, it can also lessen the likelihood of mammary and pituitary tumours later on in life.

I would keep a very close eye on her, watch for any swelling or discomfort in her abdomen and continue with the antibiotics. Maybe even consider spaying her anyway?

(And I sympathise with your experience with emegency vets - they do love their money, don't they?)

·
Registered
393 Posts
Infection is usually brought on by the mycoplasma residing in the uterus. I too recommend going with the spay since there are so many benefits :3