Rat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so thing is I want to get a rat, but I don't have a cage or anything. Is it good to just go to petsmart or petco and just vuy a cage I think is big enough...or is there a special way to pick out a cage?
Again, I am completely brand new at this

·
Registered
2,160 Posts
firstly, you need to get a minimum of 2 rats... not one

enter the cage dimensions of the cage you are interested in buying on this & it will tell you if it is large enough or not

http://www.fancy-rats.co.uk/information/guides/cagecalculator/

male rats end up bigger than females so don't go with the absolute smallest size you can get away with

The next thing I would advise is if you can afford a larger cage than what you need.... get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I say this because 99.9% of all rat owners end up adding to their numbers & end up having to spend double the money because of having to upgrade their cages.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Bigger is better! Get the biggest cage in your price limit. Like A1APassion
said, you can't just get one rat. They'll be a lot happier. I'm in the process of getting a companion for my single rat ~ I think he'll be a lot happier,

·
Registered
974 Posts
Go for a ferret cage instead of the other cages out there. This typically gives enough room for at least 2 rats. Hampster cages and cages made for rats are just too small for most rats.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Cool thanks
Ya I've been thinking about getting two, but I was just concerned with all the work, this being my first pet.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Honestly, there isn't any additional work with getting two. You'll get twice the love from your little guys or girls because they will be happier with a playmate.

·
Registered
482 Posts