Rat Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First of all, these are my girls, Luna and Dagny.
Rat Mammal Muridae Mouse Chinchilla

Mammal Rat Muridae Skin Mouse

We purchased Dagny as a feeder rat for our ball python a few weeks ago from our local family owned pet store. I have a few years' experience buying rats obviously and when I took her out to send her to her doom... she was the friendliest, smartest rat I'd ever seen! She had to be mine. I moved her into a 15 gal tank and began my research immediately. I read that rats are social and need friends, so after getting her settled for a week or two we returned to the pet store for another young female, which was Luna. I'm a vegan so so are they, simply because all we have in the house is vegan food. So their diet is mainly

Whole, thawed frozen peas and soybeans
pumpkin seeds
fresh veggies--faves include carrots, snow peas, and mushrooms.
fresh fruits--faves include apples, bananas, and cranberries
dried fruits--they like raisins but NOT dates
birdseed, and shoots grown from birdseed (we have a cockatiel and it seemed like a good supplement to the other stuff? definitely not a lot though)
dry pasta sparingly
dark chocolate sparingly (for fats)
my husband is a baker so sometimes they get treats as bits of homemade breads and cookies, always vegan.
They get other odds and ends too, sometimes a bit of dinner.

They're both in the 15 gal, got water etc and a cute nest built in a wicker basket. I was careful when introducing them, they already get along like sisters. Their personalities are so different--Dagny is an adventurous wild child, Luna is timid and mostly stays put, unless you spook her and then she's off like a rocket. I'd never considered getting rats, but they're very lovely, clean, friendly and smart.