Rat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

It's been a while since I've come onto the rat forums. I've been busy adjusting things with the rats, making new and big cages as I've got more rats!

Anyway, the reason I've made a new topic is because two of the new rats I've got, I am giving away. The reason for this is because I have some good friends that have never had the joy of owning rats of their own. The problem is, they live far away and I'd have to travel by plane to get to them. I'm worried about taking the rats on a plane. I've never done it before, and it would take about two hours and a half. Is it safe? The little guys are only 11 weeks old and I'm not sure whether it will be good for their health!

I know someone else has already said something about travelling rats but they only mentioned trains.

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
most american airlines will not take rats at all.

·
Registered
483 Posts
My sister had to drive with all her rats from Cali-- because the airlines wouldn't take them, but also because she was scared that they wouldn't be safe in the baggage area which is wear they would have to be even if they had been allowed.

Anyway my sister is fostering 9 rats and already has six of her own

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
I would worry about planes. It's been done I think, but a while ago. And I doubt it's comfortable, especially if they're in the baggage area, which sometimes isn't pressurized, and is almost never heated. I'm not sure how well rats can clear their ears with the pressure changes!

Can your friends not get rats in their area? Or are these really special rats to them?

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
Yes, you can fly rats. But you can not bring rodents into the cabin of a plane - they must be cargo. Some airlines do not allow rats even in cargo.

Rats can't vomit, so that isn't a huge concern.