Rat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi, im a newbie at rat care so i wanted to know what the best chey toy for younger rats would be. i put a mineral chew charm in the cage and i was wondering if that would work or there are any downsides to using that kind rather than wood. all info is greatly appriciated

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
If you have a look around at your local pet store, somewhere like Petsmart, you will find all sorts of things that are sold especially for rats, ferrets, gerbils etc. Most of the toys sold for these animals will suit your rats, too.

Some people buy parrot toys. You could have a look in that section. Just be careful to avoid anything that contains cedar or pine.

One thing I always put in our ratties cages are toilet roll tubes. When they are very small they like to crawl through them and stick their heads in them. When they get too big for that, they use them as a chew toy.

I'm sure others will have some ideas, too. Have fun with it!

·
Registered
2,755 Posts
i've always found that chicken bones after a meal is a fav of all the rats i've ever had. its cheap and they love them! you can leave them in there for a while too (at least until next cage cleaning) as they eat off all the meat leftover within the day (most commonly an hour with my girls but i have a few that fight over it too...). just watch them and their coats for signs of icthiness. some rats are more sensitive then others when it comes to protein consumption though i've never personally had a problem with chicken bones. if they do seem to be icthy don't give them as many bones or other things which are high in protein and it should clear up on its own. if it doesn't then you probably have lice or mites. but anyway, i use the chicken bones for chew toys.

·
Registered
730 Posts