Rat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to everyone....this is my first post on this site, I really need some advice.
I've been keeping rats for just over 5 years and have never seen such aggressive behaviour. I have two dumbo boys aged 18 months , afew months ago i tried to introduce a 4 month old boy to them. It was a complete disaster, after alot of huffing and puffing one of the dunbos attacked the newbie , which resulted in a nasty gash and a large vet bill. I have since kept them apart, i now have a very aggressive rat. he has started to attack me now, with quite severe bites! i'm very confused, why has my cuddly boy turned on me? :cry: Any advice would be most welcome.........Thanks

·
Registered
527 Posts
did you follow the proper steps for introducing them? (i.e. switching their cages, introducing them on neutral territory,etc.) and are the older boys neutered?
rats consider other rats to be adults when they're three months old, so maybe that's why they weren't accepting of him as they thought a strange adult male suddenly showed up?
if he's alone, it's very likely that he will start having behavioral problems (hence the biting), so you should try to re-introduce him to some ratty friends soon.

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
Your situation is a bit unclear but as jellybeanqueen said if he's alone still you should try to re-introduce him to a friend. Doing proper introductions and having patience usually pay off in the end.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·