Rat Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I've dreamed of having pet rats since I was a kid, and a year and a half ago it finally happened. I've read about how to take care of them and watched videos of people playing with their pets for a while, so while I am not experienced I know that what I'm experiencing is not what I thought would happen.

My pets have a large cage with lots of toys. They also have their own room that I've set up with cardboard box mazes for them to run around and play on. I sit with them for about an hour a day, and when they come close I talk to them and try to pet them gently. One, Alfred, is just not friendly. He rarely comes close to me and sort of slinks away every time I try to touch him. I have been working for this whole time to find a good balance between respecting his feelings but getting him acclimated to me. He just plain avoids me and squeaks whenever I pick him up, which I sometimes have to do to get him back in his cage for the evening. The other one, Vincent, occasionally comes to see me. It's never for very long though, and mostly he seems to be climbing on me to get to the window sill so he can look out. He doesn't mind being petted and is usually okay being picked up. Unfortunately, he also tends to bite. He freaks out around feet - I have to wear old shoes around them because if I am barefoot he will bite and draw blood. Today he bit my finger, also hard enough to draw blood. I wasn't doing anything unusual and I think I pick them up gently. I've handled lots of other small pets of others before and I've never had animals react badly - I don't think it's that I "lack confidence" or approach them in a way that normally freaks them out or anything. And it's not like Vincent bites me every day - it is just more frequent than seems to be normal, based on all my research on domesticated rats.