Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
486 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dotty has had a lump on her side for awhile now and recently it has been steadily getting bigger - I know her time is nearly up but I just don't like to admit it to myself :( - and I've noticed that she isn't as active as usual when I get her out, this may seem like a silly question but is that due to the lump/tumour?

The lump is behind her left front leg it doesn't seem to hinder her movement or flexabilty in anyway.

Just thinking of what the horrible lump could be is making me sad now :(

EDIT - Saying that she's just come out of her hidy box now and is having a sniff round. She must've known she's being mentioned. Lol.

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
Re: Do Tumours...

can you post a picture? it could be a tumor or an abcess, sorry i'm not too good with telling the differences just by description :oops:

·
Registered
1,095 Posts

It could just be that she's older. Usually, tumors don't affect rats too much, especially if they're not hindering their movements at all. Though, the larger a tumor gets, the more blood supply it takes up (thus why it's highly recommended to have them removed within about a week of first spotting them).

·
Registered
486 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

I thought afterwards that it may be because she's getting old, she is 10 months old now.

I know that I should've had it removed as soon as I took her to the vets, but I was unemployed at the time and had very little money so couldn't afford to pay for the operation and after care treatment - my parents wouldn't pay for it either as they'd already helped me out by paying £30 to have her eye sorted out and treated.
I also didn't want to put such a little body under such stress of an operation or even worse lose her.
As long as Dotty is happy within herself, then I'm happy. Soon after I posted this as I said she came out of her box and started having a wander round and clambering up me.