Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know they are nocturnal, so I play with them and carry them around in my pouch when I get home from work, but I go to bed at 10 pm.....since they sleep all day, I wonder if I am giving them enough attention....

·
Registered
2,292 Posts
As long as they're getting a few hours a day to free range, they're fine. I'm a college student so I pull a lot of late nights studying, and it's nice to have my rats awake to keep me company :)

·
Registered
1,072 Posts
I would try and wake up when I had a single rat and he wanted to play. sometimes all the running across my face and ear nibbling couldn't wake me up! Well.... It could, but I was too tired to play. Now that I have two, they just play with eachother, so I don't feel bad.

·
Registered
3 Posts
i'm a late sleeper, to be honest so i'm always with my rats! especially at night time. it's just a real pain when i'm trying to go to sleep and they're crawling under my covers

·
Registered
3 Posts
I can't always. My work schedule varies, so sometimes I work mornings-so I can't play with them at night or I'll be exhausted for work. I do have 2 rats, so I just let them ply with each other.

·
Registered
270 Posts
I think you can modify their "schedule" a little to fit your day. Someone here on the forum said that it is important that they do get some quiet time to rest, be it during day, or night. My rats usually sleep between noon and 6 pm, then get active after 6pm,so we have plenty of time to play and free range in the evening. I also sometimes get up early before 5am, and when I take a look in the cage I often find them asleep. Day or night they like to sleep in their comfy hammocks. :)

·
Registered
15 Posts
My rats tend to sleep on and off. Whenever I'm available to play, they'll wake up, and then after we're done playing they'll go back to sleep.

·
Registered
246 Posts