Rat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still learning about rats. I've decided I'm getting a Savic Royale cage and now I need to find out what stuff I can and can't put in there. Is there a general guide, or advice I can get from you guys? I'm guessing there are materials I need to avoid, what are they?

·
Registered
139 Posts
Probably the most important thing is bedding. You might not know, but having the right bedding in your cage is really REALLY important. Don't ever use cedar or pine shavings as bedding. I know it's tempting because it makes their cage smell nice, but that exactly the reason you shouldn't use it. The smell is just too strong for them, and it can really mess with their respiratory system. No clay cat litter either, it's too dusty. And no corn cob bedding (unless you plan on changing it every couple of days), because it rots really quickly when it gets wet.

Better choices for bedding would be aspen shavings (no strong smells like cedar and pine), Carefresh bedding (sold in most pet stores), pelleted paper-based bedding (i.e. Yesterday's News cat litter), shredded paper (just make sure if you do it yourself the ink is vegetable or soy based!), or another really popular method is to use fleece. Currently, I use shredded newspaper so I can't tell you much about it, but there are TONS of threads on how to make and use fleece liners on here. :)

·
Registered
139 Posts
Rats also LOVE hides and hammocks. You can buy a lot of hides at the pet store, just make sure you get ones that are big enough for when your rats grow up (assuming they're babies now)! You can also make your own out of plastic bowls/containers, PVC pipes, cardboard boxes, etc.