Rat Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have three ill rats that I, sadly, cannot afford to have treated by a vet. I am a broke college student. I have put away nearly $300 in vet bills since November between Harley and Pyg (who sadly did not survive his head trauma). I still owe $60 to my vet. A new semester starts next week, and I barely have money for books and supplies for school. My parents cannot help me pay my bills either and I don’t have any friends to borrow money from…

Harley: Harley is a strong old girl (2 yrs). She's undergone two surgeries since November (when I had a little money), to have massive tumors removed. However, a third tumor has appeared between her hind legs, literally overnight. It has doubled in size over the last two days and is the most rapid-growing of all of her tumors. She eats more than her fair share and still over-grooms her daughter (who now has a bald spot on her forehead from her mother's attentiveness XP ). She seems content and indifferent towards her tumor.

Baby: Baby, almost two years, has developed the same symptoms of a respiratory illness that killed her father. She has lost a considerable amount of weight and has a quiet wheeze when she breathes. Her wheezing seems to be increasing every day. However, she eats like a pig, is less active than normal but still gets around, cuddles with her mama, and seems otherwise content.

Blazer: Blazer, almost two, also has a tumor deveolping on his side. It is small and developing slowly. The tumor doesn't interfere with his mobility and he is still fat, happy, and goofy as ever before.

I don’t know what I should do!

I know all of them need to see a vet, but I cannot cover the bills! I’ve seen six of my babies pass away over the last three years and I don’t want Harley, Baby, and Blazer to go before they have to. But I feel like there is nothing I can do to help them.

I need some advice, please!