Rat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I am a college student and first-time rat owner. I bought Gilligan five weeks ago from the local PetSmart. He's about four months old and super friendly. He likes when I pet him between the shoulder blades and curls up in the crook of my elbow when I cuddle him. I made his cage (okay, my boyfriend helped), and I'm in the process of crocheting him a hammock.

The only problem is I haven't actually had him with me for the past three weeks. Since I bought him from PetSmart, there is a two week guarantee. So if your new little friend appears sick PetSmart will take him to the vet at no cost to you. I noticed him sneezing, and he had what I thought was porphyrin around one eye. I was worried about a URI, so I took him back at the end of my two weeks. PetSmart called me a few days later to tell me that Gilligan actually has mites and that the treatment can last anywhere from 3 to 6 weeks. I go in to visit him every couple of days. Now it's been three weeks, and his mites don't seem to be getting any better. In fact, yesterday when I went to see him, he seemed worse. He was shedding a lot more, and there were dark specks all over his coat. The girl said she would make a note of it, but it feels like I'm never going to get him back.

So my first time owning a rat hasn't been the smoothest experience ever. I now know that I should go through a breeder if I ever decide to take in another rat, but I'm still attached to Gilligan and would like to have him back healthy and happy. Any advice on what to do?

·
Registered
4,580 Posts
If I were in your shoes, I'd ask about signing some form of release so that you can get your rat back and take care of the treatment on your own. They are obviously treating the mites incorrectly, or it would have never lasted this long. Besides, if they are dark specs, it isn't mites but rather lice. The treatment is still the same.