Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a first time breeder. I'm actually breeding mice, but the concept is the same. I've found as much information as possible and I've been considering it for about a couple of years now. Nonetheless, I am ready.

My question: I bought a male and female mouse from the pet store roughly a week ago. I'm wondering what the odds are of the female actually getting pregnant. Is it almost a positive idea that she'll be pregnant? Mostly I'm just excited and such seeing as it is my first time breeding, and I'm wondering if there's any sure way to tell.

I just switched cages (as the little male could escape) and finding the "plug" was something I found out you could do after the fact. Should I be patient and just wait until I can see the swelling or is there a sure way to tell if your mouse/rat is pregnant? Thanks.

·
Registered
941 Posts
For Mice, If your Breeding Then Just leave the male in.
Its not like they will eat the babies. My Male Mice actually pick them up and move them to the mom.

The only Thing people should say to this is that they will contiue to try breeding....(the male)

·
Registered
1,440 Posts
That's horrible advice for rats matt. If you leave the male in, the female will just get pregnate again putting strain on her while she feeds the current litter, causeing her to have undue stress and a shorter life span. DO NOT LEAVE THE MALE IN!

But yeah, I really don't think backyard feeder breeders should be giving out any advice on PET breeding when the person strives to do it properly. I know that sounds harsh but really, please don't give out advice on breeding Matt.