Rat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Been lurking for a bit, figured it was time to say hello! First time rat owner. I have a 5mo female black rat (as in Rattus rattus, not the color;) ) named Claudia. She's been hand raised since she was a week old, I got her around 3 weeks. Never gave much thought to rats as pets until I met her, and I can't believe what I've been missing out all this time! She's affectionate and playful and it's just been super rewarding all around. I'm going to try attaching a picture, hopefully it works. Definitely interested in talking to other R rattus owners. I'm sure they are very similar to R norvegicus but since I have no experience with them I'm always wondering. Anyway, I also have 2 house bunnies (a sweet netherland dwarf named Signy, and Batman- a rescued lop who is friendly but does not like to be touched) and am a regular volunteer at a wildlife refuge.

Attachments

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm. I can't seem to get the spacing to take. I swear this was broken up into paragraphs! Is there a trick to it? Maybe it's because I'm on my ipad? Or am I on restricted posting privileges as a newb? Idk. Even under Go Advanced I couldn't find any formatting options.

·
Registered
835 Posts
Huh you might be on the mobile version and that changes things, never been on the mobile version so I can't say. The only restricting privileges as a newbie is that you can only post in the Say Hello thread until you've posted 3 things then no restrictions.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
She is very cute! But rats are very social so you should think of getting her a friend.

Yeah, I do feel bad that she doesn't have a buddy!