Rat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I feel like I'm giving my rats way more food than they are eating, but it's so hard to see how much they eat in a night. I started off with a bowl and they always took everything out and put it in a hoard before tossing bedding in the bowl. So I tried scatter feeding, but now I don't know how much to give and by the way my bag of oxbow is depleting I'm feeding way too much. It's impossible to tell how many pellets are left in the bedding as the blend right in with the Carefresh. Rather than just getting one of the wire food hangers, would a bird food toy work? I've seen other people use them. Or would they still work at it until there's none left and hoard what they don't eat?

Also, roughly how much should I be giving three young, growing boys a night? I feed Oxbow young rat and mouse plus Suebees Rat mix

·
Registered
102 Posts
I'm not a pro with rat food, yet, so I really can't tell you how much you should be feeding them, but I just wanted to throw an idea out there so you could approximate how much they do eat at night - instead of using carefresh as their bedding, switch it up just for a week, maybe, and use fleece or something so you can see the food in the morning and can tell how much your boys eat throughout the night.

·
Registered
2,871 Posts
They say a rat generally eat about a 1lb of food a month. Alot can effect this such as age, activity, sex, other food given, etc.. but it is pretty acurate.

They do make bird treat dispensers, just make sure they both are able to get to the food. You can also search DIY bird treat toys, or rat treats. One thing is making a pinata out of like a cardboard tube & stuff it with paper and hang it. Making them work for the food may help.