Rat Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, everyone,

I am new to Rat Forum, so I hope you will forgive a post that somewhat duplicates my "Say Hello." I should have saved this question for the behavior forum.

Beauregard and Marcellus are my Boys, about 7 mos. old. What different personalities! Beau is bold, pushy, but at the same time very nervous. MarMar is timid, but smarter than Beau. They got along in perfectly normal ratty ways until I put them on a diet, because both were overweight. I used to just put food in their bowl, and then give a couple of small treats over the course of the day. Then I realized Beau was getting the lion's share of the food, and was way overweight--1.5 lbs.! I reduced their rations, eliminated nuts and seeds almost completely. Now, I give them snack meals about 3 times per day, and I make them work for their main meal (Oxbow chips). I have bought or created toys which make them work for their food.

They both now seem obsessed with food. That's all they're interested in when I come around. If I do feed them in a bowl, I often have to separate them, because Beau has attacked Mar several times--for reals, not play--to keep him away from the food. Mar is frightened by these attacks, and usually freezes, hence getting even less of the food. Their diet right now consists of about 25-30 Oxbow chips per day, along with about 3 treats. The treats might be 3/4" sq turkey cold cuts, a teaspoon of plain yoghurt, half a baby carrot, 1 whole grape or 1 whole small cherry tomato, 1/4 of a cooked egg, half of a strawberry or cherry, a dozen peas, or a inch or two of cooked broccoli stem, among other things.