Rat Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I didn't notice this board when I first joined, I was curious about her behaviour that I went straight to the behaviour borad. Anyhoo.... I am 18, I live with my parents still. I am a beginner to rats, excluding a buck I had when I was 11, I only had him for a few months, and I have had my new doe, Honey for 2 or 3 months. My family doesn't like rats, or any rodent really, but I somehow didn't ingherit that gene or didn't like that idea when I was being "nurtured" So if it isn't "nature" or"nuture", then why do I love all rodents so much??? I have predominately owned hamsters since Jerry the buck rat died but I got tired of them and wanted to go back to my favorite rodenty pet ever, which of course was Jerry the rat. I didn't want to replace Jerry, even though it has been 7 years, I still miss him terribly. So I got a black capped female instead of a black hooded male. As I am writing this, she is chittering on my shoulder and occasionally climbing down my shirt to stand on my hands as if asking "Whatcha doin'?" In case you are wondering, I only just recently discovered that rat's need to have rat companions, and haven't yet ben able to convince my parents to let me get another one, I only barely got them to let me buy Honey. So anyway, I have owned so many hamsters I can't even remember, both Syrian and dwarf. I currently have one male dwarf hamster and one male albino feeder mouse. Honey is also a "feeder" Since I have yet to find either a breeder or a rescue in my area (central eastern Ky) As a matter of fact, I have only found one petstore who even carries them, and it isn't a petsmart. The petsmart I go to only has hamsters and small birds and fish, sometimes lizards. Anyway, the petstore Where I got Honey and Remi the mouse is an independant and aside from not seperating the genders, they take fair care of the feeders, since both of the owners own rats as pets, but mice as feede