Rat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I'm fairly new to rats here and I've had my three little girls for a little over a month now. When I got them, two had a bit of a sneezing/stuffy nose thing going on and the third, Emma, sounded so congested that she was grunting while breathing. She also didn't seem to want to eat as much as the other two and was a lot smaller. So I packed up all my rats and took them into the vet, who prescribed a dose of doxy for all three (two weeks for the two that were just a little sniffly and three weeks for Emma). Well, Emma was better while on the medicine and for a few days afterwards. She's gained enough weight that she looks the same size as her sisters but she's seemed to have lost her appetite again and she's back to making the grunting noise. She just sits in the corner of her cage and grunts. To me, it sounds like what happens to me whenever I have a massive sinus infection and I just can't breathe. My boyfriend thinks it sounds rattley like bronchitis. Anyway, I've made an appointment with the vet on wednesday to have another look at her. Does anyone have any idea what may be going on or anything I might be able to do to help her out?

·
Registered
3,509 Posts
I've got an amazingly similar thing happening right now with one of my boys Jake - he's got (what I call) a crackle in his chest that clears up with either a anti-inflammatory injection or a long dose of anti-biotics. But a week later, the crackle's back and we're back to square one. This has been going on for over 7 months now!

I've been told it could be an environmental cause, so I was advised to change his bedding and diet and favourite play places - so far, I've not found out what's causing it - but continue to treat in the regular fashion of ab's and jabs.