Rat Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm Kiki. I'm a college student and live in Arizona. Until this morning, I had two lovely girls, Tsuki and Sif, both between 2 and 2 1/2 years old. On Saturday night/Sunday morning at 2 AM, Tsuki very suddenly came down with what turned out to be pneumonia. She had suddenly coughed up thick brownish mucus, and after that her breathing was periodically labored. There were no 24-hour vets in the area that treated rats, so I took her in the following morning the moment the nearest exotic vet opened. $369 later, she seemed stable again and had regained much of her strength. They had given her an IV for dehydration, put her on oxygen and nebulized her with Albuterol, and sent me home with four different medications: Baytril, Doxycycline, Theophylline and Meloxicam. I separated her from hyper Sif so she could relax, and she took all her medicine like a champ for a full day, and seemed to be recovering well. Yesterday, she was eating and drinking more, climbed onto my shoulder, and cuddled with me in my lap for a long while.