Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am now the owner of two rats don't particularly know what kind if there is different kinds of rats and the only real reason for that is i'm trying to design a new product to prevent rats from chewing through wires without dying ,getting sick, etc. I am the care taker of these rats and I will be the only person using this account because I'm the lead designer for this product. I came here for advice on how to care for rats as well as get suggestions for the product if you have any questions I will gladly answer them.

·
Premium Member
4,287 Posts
Hi, I'm an engineer myself, though mech end rather than electrical. Happy to talk vainly technical if needed.

Probably the main thing with rats and electric wires is that they are mainly drawn to those with a current passing through. It's quite distinct actually. I suspect they pick up on the electric current. You've got 2 main options to deal with it, the useual one is to keep them away e.g in plastic trunking, decent strength protective tubing or just blocking off the area. The other is to stop the cable being or appearing live to them. I tend to favour the first when I'm rat proofing as its low hassle but I do have a rat room and lots don't.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
@ Isamurat
I can see if they are attracted to wires just because of them having current ill just give them a strand of wire and see if they chew up the wire with no current I will tell you the results when I get them. Have any tips on keeping them happy and healthy?

·
Registered
680 Posts
I saw something on a documentary show a while back about a company using capsaicin, the stuff that makes chili peppers hot, to deter rats/mice from chewing on wires. They somehow blended it into the plastic sheathing of the wire. Apparently this is a huge issue for cities like New York that have large rat populations.