Rat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I've been following this forum for rat advice and decided to go ahead and sign up, since it looks like a positive group of people and a good knowledge base here.

My fiance and I got three rats last weekend. They were approximately 5 weeks old. We're still having fear issues with these rats running away when they see us., etc., even though we've been holding them daily. I hope these fear issues resolve with time. This is my first time having rats. I hope it turns out to be a good experience.

·
Registered
68 Posts
We had 2 baby girls start out very scared and turned out to be able to be held, one is still a little more skittish than the other but holding them and just letting them get used to your voice and being around them should help :3

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! It sounds like having them start out scared is a common experience. They let us hold them for short periods, but getting them out of the cage is still a challenge because they will bolt or climb the bars like monkeys. We are also trying to just hang around the cage a lot so they get used to seeing and hearing us.

·
Registered
479 Posts
There are a couple methods for getting your new rats to be ok with you. Read up on immersion in the behavior section. That will help a lot. And because they are young you can raise them. You may also notice one being more brave and interacting with you more. Don't ignore him in favor of focusing on the more skiddish. Braver rats can teach the more skiddish ones that the human is a good thing. But giving each one time and trying immersion out and they'll come around. You'll see a lot it isn't a slow thing usually, most of the time it seems one day they hate you or are terrified and the next they want to be on you and kissin you. It's amazing and funny as all.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #5