Rat Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, Ratforum!

My name is Justice and on Wednesday evening, after years of research and wanting and waiting, I finally brought home my first pair of rats. They're two females, named Gin and Tonic... Any future girls shall be named Cucumber and Rosemary. ;)

I intended on adopting from a rescue, but I was wary as I'm fairly new to rats and am not prepared to care for rats that may have past trauma or behavioral issues. Unfortunately, there are no ratteries in my area (that I could find anyway). Thus, perusing the Craigslist pet section I found my girls. Their former owner was very sweet and took good care of them. The only negative I have to say about their former living situation is that they had a boring cage (no toys, no levels, just decent floor space) and their cage was sprayed with some kind of rodent odor neutralizer that was totally unnecessary.

They seem to be settling in very well. They're a little shy, but they're eager to greet me at their cage door when I approach. They're now climbing out of the cage and crawling on me whenever I open the door to spot clean, feed, etc. It's very reassuring. Tonic is getting used to being handled, I hold her for about ten minutes a few times a day... Any more than that and she becomes very wriggly and starts exploring a little too far. Gin shrieks when I pick her up and does not settle at all when being held. Their owner said she was the shyer of the two. Gin is also younger, probably 4-5 months. Hopefully she becomes as confident and adventurous as Tonic.

The only questions I have so far would be the following: