Rat Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well first off I must say, I am very pleased to have found this web page. It looks cool and interesting, and I particularly appreciate the rules that are laid out to keep it a respectful and inviting environment. I only wish I had come across it under different circumstances! My name is Amberly, I am new to rats and love them already.:rolleyes:
Recently my finacee's brothers girlfriend took in two youngish lady rats. A few days later both of these lady rats gave birth to 24 beautiful healthy babies. The woman who took in these rats was to say at the very least- abusive to the rats, she did not clean their cage and did not go and get them more food when they ran out and instead fed them whatever human food she had on hand. Instantly being the animal lovers that we are, my fiancee and I offered to take them home and watch them for a while. They are in significantly better conditions and we have read up on them as much as we can. We have the lady babies in one cage and man babies in another cage and the two mama ratties in their own cage. We of course didn't seperate them until they were just after 4 weeks old and did so to keep the sexually mature boys away from their Mama's.
Okay now, to the point of why this is an EMERGENCY SITUATION: My babies have been sneezing, and at first we were like "okay okay, it says its common for them to sneeze a bit when first introduced to new things." But the sneezing has since grown worse, some rattie babies are sneezing more than others, its developed to a few wheezes! I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. -sorry for my panick- The nearest vet is a 4 hour drive ONE WAY, and its not just a matter of one rat, but 24 babies. ???