Rat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so im new with rats. i bought a small male and female. female is more active/not afraid to come to my hand to take a treat. the male rat seems to be scared and wont even react to my hand being there is there something i can do to help him? got a few other questions...... so its been 2 days with these rats what do i do with the rats when i need to clean the cage and theyre not trusting me yet? like should i open the cage into a big box ? without touching them? i need some little advice here thanks and my last question i dont know which one of the two. but one of the rats makes a noise like if he/she is sniffing out like a dog but seems healthy and happy. i believe its the female one doing it. she doesnt make the noise when shes sleeping or chilling in her castle home. can someone Please help me out thanks a lot!

·
Registered
2,871 Posts
Is your male or female neutered/spayed? If not please separate them asap and prepare for babies :(

For cage cleaning if you do not have a rat proof area then I would just put them in a carrier or spare cage. You should be able to pick them up to transfer them. I don't suggest dumping them from the cage into a box.

Some rats sniffle alittle bit at a new home with changing of air, bedding, smells. If it doesn't clear up you will need to take them to a vet.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
update: dont believe its normal plus i dont need a famale with male especially because i dont want babies. but i would have kept her if she wasnt "sick" so i called petco and the lady said to just return her . so im going to do that now :( she was so playful and wasnt scared of me like the male rat. but ill be picking up another male rat i guess and i hope **** be ok with him lol

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4