Rat Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
'Ello!
My name is Stacey and for the past week, I have been looking into getting some rats. I've been looking for a more personal pet like a bird, reptile but rats have caught my attention and I am hooked.
I've done plenty of research and even found out that there is a rat society in my area, which should be heaps of fun.
I have multiple questions to ask the forum, I'll bullet point them for easy answering :D

1. How many rats?
I know it will have to be at least two. I was thinking maybe 4 rats might be a good choice for me, as I love attention and variety. What is a nice, healthy amount to own?

2. What type of cage?
I have a small room, with not much space. A tall cage will be easiest but they can be so expensive, and I am only a student.

3. Female, Male, or both?
I love the fact of having a male as I have been told they can be much more laid back, which would be awesome, but my problem is their genitals. It sounds silly but it puts me off a lot. The females look nicer to me, but I want a laid back animal. How much does desexing cost? and at what age can they get desexed?

·
Registered
132 Posts