Rat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
noticed last night that my baby boy reggie has a huge lump on his underside groin area near his hind leg. it wasnt there the night before, his behaviour hasnt changed, still eating, drinking and still full of character. he doesnt seem to be in any pain. the lump is squidgy not hard at all, no lump as such. is it a tumor? i can try the vet tomorrow if not will be tuesday. really need some help here, he is only 14-16 weeks old

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
Hopefully it's only an abcess, which can be opened, drained, and washed by the vet. Even if you cannot get him into the vet tomorrow, ask the vet for his/her opinion, be sure to mention it's soft, not hard. :)

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks i so hope u r right, not ready to lose him yet! i think it came up too quick to b a tumor, nut im no expert. i have no idea on costs for these types of things, any idea how much it would be to drain a tumor.

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
A tumor would require surgery and be more expensive than draining an abcess. However, I haven't had to get that done for any of my boys (knock on wood), so I'm not sure as to cost.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
update, took reggie to vet first thing. its his testicle! only 1 has dropped and the vet said the likely hood of it dropping now is 0. so it will stay in his abdomen. while the vet was holding him(quite roughly) he started to bleed out of his nose. i pointed it out the vet said he must have banged his nose?? now im worried about myco. he also said that the testicle could twist and cause a hernia, the op would b too big for him so he would have to b put down. so heres fingerz crossed that it stays put!!! i have to take him back in a month to b checked out.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #7