Rat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
So here we are on day three of intros (two eight week old sisters with two ten month old sisters). It's been a bit of a challenge because it's my first time doing intros, but from what I've read it could have been much worse.
The four are great together when in neutral territory like the tub or the bed, and this has been the case since day one. I have a double critter nation unit and have had them separated but after neutral ground time went well, I thought I'd open up the two units so they could roam together. Here is where the trouble started. There was forced grooming, pinning, boxing, and definitely some sqeaks. I would clap my hands and separate if it got too violent. We spent more time on the bed which again went great but back in the cage and we're having a little bit of forced grooming with some noises,( but not as much as day one and day two.). It seems almost as if they've paired off in twos: the less dominant ten month old with the less dominant newbie, and the two others fighting for leader.
Anyways, so I'm sitting here watching the cage, and the four are in together. It's strange because they'll go from all eating and drinking together out of the same dish to squeaks and squeals and pinning - then back to peace and quiet. I'm not at all sure if this is what is to be expected but would love to hear some advice.
Is this something that I need to let 'play out'? How do I know when I can leave them together unsupervised? At this point I'm thinking if I'm in the room they can stay together but anywhere else and I'll separate them again..
Thanks all, I just want the best for the ratties!

·
Registered
219 Posts
I think you went too fast. I would never recommend putting rats into an uncleaned cage that had only met face to face three times and only on neutral ground. You're pretty lucky no one was seriously hurt.