Rat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, thanks for reading and any help you have to offer. We have four female rats, two are about five months and two are about three months old. They like playing with us and aren't afraid. The only problem is, we were bitten by pretty much all of them at one point (blood drawn) so we started using oven mitts to work with them. They're happy to climb on us and actually like being picked up, they just don't like skin. They will either bite it or avoid it. They're never aggressive about it—no raised fur, etc. They just bite. This is not my first time with rats, though it is my first time with girls. I had never really been bitten before. I always just picked them up and it was fine. Perhaps ours now were not handled by their breeder or at the store, or were even mistreated as babies. I should say we live in Japan, where keeping fancy rats is very rare and also new. The fact that there's a pet store near us with rats is kind of a miracle.

Anyway, any tips or tricks you can offer to help us get used to each other would be much appreciated. We love them and want to be even closer to them.

·
Registered
Rex, Penny, Sugar, Latte
430 Posts
The most common method is to show them a spoon with a licking treat on it, to get it they have to lick it off since they don't want to bite on the metal. You can also put a licking treat on your arm so they get used to your skin, and everytime they bite just take your hand away. Also, it's very important to watch your rats body language to make sure your not pushing them to much. For example if your rat freezes don't try to touch her, wait till she moves.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3