Rat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! My name is Lexie and I am very new to the rat world. I have never had rats before, only hamsters and mice (for about a week). I've had hamsters for years but I could never bond with them and they never could learn any tricks.
I have been tinking about getting a rat but my mom...
well..
she's fixed on the fact that they "stink". Do they really stink?

Also, if I do get a rat, would a hairless be okay? My mom has allergies t lots of things and I'm thinking the non-fur would help?

Thanks! Also, Hi there ^~^

·
Registered
25 Posts
Welcome to the forum. You will definitely find rats to be different as far as interactions go from hamsters and mice. They are much more intelligent, can be potty trained, have the potential to learn tricks (though training can be a matter of patience) and bond very well with their owners and other ratties.
Rats themselves do not stink. They are very clean animals. They tend to poop in one area of their cage and as mentioned can be litter trained, but they do pee. Whatever type of way you prefer to prep your cage whether you use bedding or liners these must be changed at regular intervals depending on how many rats you have. I have two and I change the liners every 3 days or so and I have no issues with smell. Mine also use a litter box.
I have no idea about whether or not a hairless is less allergenic than one covered in fur, I'm sure someone will answer that.
If you are deciding on getting a rat and cant spend lots of time with it each day, consider getting two. The amount of care required is not greatly increased and the times that you cannot be with your rat will be much less stressfull as the one can have another to play with and generally have company. Rats are social animals and being alone does not suit them well.
Best of luck, hope you get your rat(s).

·
Registered
2,871 Posts