Rat Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm new to rats (I only ever had a rabbit when I was young) and I just got my baby boys today! The pet store I got them from was a local one and apparently have been getting theirs from a breeder for 16 years.

That said, I'm a little worried about my boys, Eddie Riggs, the grey and white one, and Mello, the fawn one, are both sneezing. Mello is also really sedate, not sure if it's due to the sickness or he's just like that, he's also a lot smaller than Eddie Riggs, though I know they aren't from litter, it's a little concerning. They are both high white too, I think. You can't really see, but Mello has a white spot on his forehead and Eddie looks like a blaze? What's the risk of megacolon happening now?

Eddie Riggs:
Chinchilla Rat Rodent Hamster Muridae Rat Mammal Muridae Gerbil Rodent

Mello:
Vertebrate Rat Mammal Mouse Hamster Hand Dough Gerbil

·
Registered
601 Posts
If you're really concerned about something it couldn't hurt to schedule a new pet well-check with the vet. :)

A lot of the time, new rats sneeze when they've just gotten home. They're adjusting to their environment. As long as it isn't excessive or accompanied by a lot of reddish discharge from the nose, or labored breathing, they're probably just getting used to their new surroundings. If they're not from the same litter it's entirely possible that Mello is younger. Also, some rats are just smaller than others. Some of my boys (full grown) are around 550 grams, others are 650+ grams.

I'm not sure about megacolon. I'm not sure a head spot (Mello) qualifies as high white, though I could be wrong.

They're very very cute, congratulations on your new ratties!

·
Registered
581 Posts
Welcome to the world of rats! They're absolutely gorgeous boys too!