Rat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am so lost right now,
I know plenty about rats compared to the average Joe.... however Im still learning about all the different colors, and types of rats...
I have a 1+ year old Male Rue, who I know is a cream colored hooded rat, and he has red eyes if that matters at all...... and he just 3 days ago unfortunately got a hold of my baby girl snoopy who is about 3 months old.... she is a black hooded rat that I adopted with her 3 sisters....
We dont know yet if she is pregnant.... we are totally hoping shes not cause shes just a babe herself but we are preparing
I was reading about megacolon and high whites and I am kinda freaking out, even though I don't even necessarily know what High-whites refer to.... I just generally took it as rats that have a lot of white fur......
Which 3 out of 5 my rats do
However Snoopy has another sister who is gray hooded rats, and none of them have ever showed signs of Megacolon, and rue never has either
ANd as I stated before I'm not even sure if them being white even has anything to do with megacolon and the high risk, but I just dont want the babies to have anything wrong with them....
I hope this makes some sense, I just want to know if I should be worried at all since the parents do not have it.... or maybe I can be explained what is really is.....
Thanks so much for helping a consfused rat mommy.....and maybe grandma...

·
Registered
1,440 Posts
Do you have pics? High white doesn't necessarilly mean mostly white, it's the name for the gene usually expressed as unusual white markings. It's hard to explain. But if you have pictures I or other members might be able to tell.

Hopefully someone can explain it better than me ): But yeah you wouldn't be able to tell really until the babies start to get all cute and have open eyes and full fur unfortunately since we don't have any pedigrees to go off of. Have you considered an e-spay?

·
Registered