Rat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi im new to this whole forum thing, but i bought a new rat today and i didnt know who better to talk with than others with rats! I went into this little pet shop and i fell in love with this carmel colored rat, so i bought her and brought her home and noticed she had mites all over her, and then realized she was housed with males. I called the pet store back and they said there was a huge possibility that she is pregnant. I dont know how to tell if she is? And she is making these really strange noises in her sleep, ive never heard my 2 other rats make these noises. I bathed her and put some flea spray on her to stop the itching and kill the mites. I dont know what else to do? Im worried she is sick or something.

·
Registered
981 Posts
Ok first off welcome to the forums!

I'm probably about to lay a lot of questions on you, so get ready!

First, it is certainly possible she's pregnant. But it is possible she isn't, too. In the "Think Before You Breed" section you can find pictures of people with pregnant rats and you can compare to your own. Generally, the way to tell is they get a swollen belly and something happens with their nipples. I think. Ok honestly I'm no expert on this so I'll let someone else field further questions.

What kind of noises is she making? Does it have to do with her breathing? If so, it may well be an upper respiratory infection (URI) which can be cleared up with a vet visit to get some Baytril.

From what I've read, generally if you can see the bugs then they are lice, not mites. However the treatment is the same either way. Most people will recommend getting Revolution online. I can scrounge up some websites for you if you need them. There are a couple that don't require a prescription. Flea spray (Or any kind of spray) is not recommended because the spray can be damaging to their sensitive respiratory systems.