Rat Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would really like this to be a support-only thread. Please keep any hurtful comments to yourself as I am already heartbroken about this.

My girl, Carl developed a mammary tumor when she was 18 months old. When I first got my girls I made the decision right then that I wouldn't pay hundreds of dollars for surgeries to remove tumors should they get them. I am a college student and its just not financially conceivable for me to do that. My previous rats both grew multiple tumors before their deaths and I just couldn't justify a $600 surgery when a new tumor could easily pop up just weeks later. I've already spent hundreds of dollars on Carl's sisters vet visits for persistent URIs and mites. Everyone not on this forum thinks I'm nuts ;)

I wasn't expecting Carl to get one so soon though. Its now grown quite huge. Larger than a golfball but smaller than a tennis ball. She still seems so happy, she runs and jumps and is quite active considering this tumor on her chest drags on the ground when she walks.

I know that pretty she won't be able to live with this condition anymore, and I've promised myself and her that as soon as I see her quality of life going away I will have her put to sleep. I've shed so many tears over this situation.

I just was hoping there were others out there who have gone through the same process that I have and could share some of their experiences.

·
Registered
870 Posts
Each person who goes through this has to make their own decision on it. Whatever you decide with love in your heart and the happiness of your rat in mind is the right decision for you and your situation. At her age I probably wouldn't put her through all the stress of a surgery either.

·
Registered
995 Posts