Rat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm plotting on how to get my girls a little more space. And a friend, maybe. I just feel like three would be a better number than two. But THAT would come after, if THIS happens-

I feel like they need a bigger cage. I feel like I should get them one, anyway, regardless of whether I get a third rat or not. So.

I stuck wtih the smaller cage (Coast Cage Ritz Condo), because a)it's perfectly servicable, and very cute b)it was a birthday gift from my parents, c) it's ALLLLMOST big enough. Some days I feel like it is, some days I don't. But it certainly won't fit three girls, which is what I'd ultimately like. And d)because I'm not technically supposed to have pets in my apartment, I wanted something mobile and hidable in case of maintenance.

But then I came up with this brillant idea- instead of having them out, and then shoving stuff into the closet if someone's coming, (which has happened once so far, to check our fire alarms), pushing my cloths out of the way so that they don't get at any to chew, and having this odd open place in my room, I could take some of the cloths/stuff OUT of my closet, and put the rat cage IN the closet! I leave the door open right now anyway, and it's a slider, so it's easy to keep open. And more importantly, it would be WAY easier to close at a moments notice. SO.

I'm thinking in a vauge sort of way about getting this cage, and putting it in my closet. It's 28H, 22x16 base. One calculator says fine for 2. That calculator doesn't have levels factored in. Wtih the one that DOES have levels factored in, it took about four hammocks to get it to say
"comfortable for 2 rats, 3 max". There are no levels built in, but I'm okay with that, I'd make some stuff up, and that's more space for creativity and changing it up.

So, it is good enough for three? I really WANT it to be yes, so I thought I'd ask.

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·