Rat Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!

I have two female rats in a Petco Rat Manor. I work at PetSmart, and just the other day, I found out one of our rats was accidentally injured. :( One of the employees was opening the rat enclosure, and evidently one of the rats was hiding up top. Her little tail got caught in the sliding mechanism, and was pulled when the girl opened the cage. The vet calls it "denuding" the tail. Basically, the skin on the tail got pulled and is now all bunched up partway down her tail. :( We're currently treating her with oral antibiotics and a cream for the tail, but the vet believes her tail will never return to normal. He doesn't think we'll need to amputate it, but we won't know for sure for about a week. In any event, he's suggesting we adopt her out, since she probably won't ever be in sellable condition.

I'm the only one there who has rats, but I'm pretty new to owning them. I rescued mine from a neglectful owner, and they're definitely full-grown at this point. The injured rat is still very young. The vet expressed concern over introducing her to new rats; seemed to think the established rats would always pick on her because her tail is different.