Rat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm really new to rats. I've never owned any or known anything about them until I got suckered into adopting some from the local pet store. I adore them, but I have some questions.

First of all, they're VERY, VERY timid. Although they've been handled all their life, they don't like being picked up and are very timid when the cage doors are open. I think they might be afraid of me. I presume this is probably normal, until they get used to me, but I'd like some advice on exactly what I should be doing to make them feel better around me. I've got some cheerios and rice krispies for treats, but a lot of times, they're too nervous to take them, especially if they're outside of the cage.

They do get curious and come out of the cage after several minutes of it being open. They'll explore a couple of feet and rush back to the cage. They get really skittish if I touch their backs, which I presume is a natural reaction? Especially if they don't like being picked up?

Anyway, I really don't want them to be scared of me and I've never done anything to hurt them that I'm aware of, although I'm sure I've done some stuff to inadvertently frighten them, like bringing them home, to a strange, new place, and taking them out of the cage to clean it. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to make them feel more comfortable? I realize I've only had them a little over a week and they're very young. Any ideas on how long it will take before they're willing to cuddle with me and stuff?