Rat Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still very new to the wonderful world of rats...and so this sudden loss was so heartbreaking and shocking.

I'd only had Dexter and Buster for a little over two weeks..they looked completely healthy and happy, not a care in the world for my little buddies...and then 2 days ago, Dexter was suddenly acting abnormal. I knew it immediately, just how he didn't run to the cage. Unfortunately, I became aware of it right before my night shift at work. As soon as I seen his health beginning to waver, I was on the hunt for an available vet...but, this morning, before I was able to bring him in for help, he suddenly died.

Wow, I've never been in so much pain over losing a pet...and after such a short, fledgling friendship. I feel so guilty and sick with regret that I hadn't spotted it sooner..and I hope and pray that Buster doesn't become ill...I plan on watching him like a hawk, and as soon as anything changes, to the vet with him.

As for the cause of death, I...honestly don't know what it was, I wasn't able to have a vet examine him in time. That, and I'm fearful that Buster will fall ill with it as well...but he seems to be doing just fine. Either way, I'm very concerned...

Yeesh, I keep rambling. Now, I don't want Buster to remain alone...that's cruel and unfair, and being so new to rats...I'm not sure when to try finding him another companion. Oh, and as far as 'depression' goes in the rat left behind, what are your experiences with it? I'm at a loss for what to do...and I'm upset that Dexter passed before his new, Ferret Nation cage arrived.

Thank you...

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
I'm very sorry. Rats can go downhill very quickly from seemingly minor things...

Maybe get the lonely little guy checked out... If you get a new rat you'll want to QT them... so he'll have to be alone a little while. :(

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3