Rat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i just adopted a pair of ratties, uku and lele i was told they are
about +/-2 months old, i was just curious of if scratching is normal.
they are my first pair of rats so im a rookie at this. they scratch
a few times but i was wondering if it could maybe be external
parasites they came from a home of a wonderful lady that sheltered
animals and unfortunately there was a dog with fleas in the house.
what are some other symptoms of external parasite. or maybe im just
paraniod.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Are they itching A LOT?? I have 3 rats and they do itch some... they clean themselves that way too. What color are your babies? If it's fleas you should be able to see them running around on the rats.

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
Rats do scratch quite a bit, particularly when they've just woken up. Like linz said, they can also look like they are scratching when they are cleaning themselves.

If you have only just got them, maybe they just need time to settle down and get used to their new environment. If it were me, I would leave them a couple of days to see how they got on - unless they are scratching constantly, then you should really get them looked at.

Try to check them to see if you can see any sign of fleas. Also, look in the cage to see if there are any irritants - anything that smells strongly, might have a strong laundry detergent smell etc. What kind of bedding are you using?

Try not to worry too much. I remember all too well what it was like being a new rattie owner! :)

·
Registered
1,440 Posts
It could also be mites which you can't see. If they are scratching a ton best to take them to a vet for a mite scraping and they would be able to treat that with medicine if found.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
no, no hay. i guess ill give them a few days to get acclimated to their new home and if they continue to scratch accessively i'll get them looked at

·
Registered