Rat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
346 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rat seem like the perfect pet, they are smarter than dog and cats, loving and just fun, but they have a very short life. That's the only thing that makes me worry about getting rats. How long have your rats lived? The book I have says you'll be lucky if your rat lifes past 2 1/2 years, I remember reading the oldest know rat was a Lab Rat that lived like 7 years and 3 months.

·
Registered
221 Posts
Well pet stores say 3 to 5 years but it is hard to say because I've heard of people's rats living to be 2 1/2, 3, 3 1/2, 4, sometimes even older, but then there are younger rats and rats that are only a year that get respiratory infections or other complications and don't make it. I know that generally rats from a good breeder will most likely have a better quality of life and not be as prone to being sick.

I'm not an expert but I thought I'd throw in my two cents :D

I'm sure when some of the more experienced rat owners reply you'll get more info.

·
Registered
4,535 Posts
For pets... two is good. Three is great. Five is amazing.

Seven is unheard of.

·
Registered
10,640 Posts
On average years ago, I found my rats lived to 26 months. Nowadays I find that 22-24 months is more the average, with tumours, and other things showing up much much earlier with so much bad breeding going on.

My youngest adult rat to leave me was 10 months, but she was very sickly, but her sisters made it to 15 months (abdominal masses) and 25 months. They all were born at a shelter.