Rat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted a while back about a little hairless that I got from a yuck pet store on an impulse.

Luckily, he is sweet as he can be (weird, considering I got him out of a 10 gallon tank with about 8 other males/females in it). He has developed into quite a personality, and rules the roost over the other 5 males he lives with (all haired littermates).

He is remarkably hardy, too, and hasn't shown any health problems, not even a sneeze. We're amazed by our good luck. Just one little thing...

He's shrimpy.

I have no experience with hairless rats, but I read that they tend to be on the smaller side due to their higher metabolism to keep warm. My question is, how much smaller? He is almost the same age as the other boys (within a week or so), who are almost 4 months old and are nearly (if not already) at their adult size. But he's so little! He was grossly skinny when we got him; you could see his ribs. He has filled out a lot, but is still so much smaller than the other guys. I know he doesn't get bullied out of food; we watch the boys eat to make sure this doesn't happen, and it's actually the opposite. They all defer to him, if anything.

I'm worried that something is wrong with him; anybody with hairless rat experience know anything about this?

I'll post some pics of him with a rat his age. Maybe I'm just an over-worrisome mom. :wink:

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
Holy cow, he IS teeny! Maybe you got a dwarf somehow, that would be cool! I'm afraid I have no idea, but I would just love to see the Hairless Shrimp (and I mean that in the best possible way!) rule over the larger furry rats, it just sounds amusing.

·
Registered
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
LoL, I thought it was just me being paranoid...

People come over and comment all the time, saying stuff like, "Wow, that weird hairless one really isn't getting any bigger, is he," or, "Why does that one look like a peanut?", etc....