Rat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am still new to rats (don't have any as pets) but have been thinking. I think that their lifespans could definitely be lengthened in the future with a bit of planning. Their general health could also be improved. It seems most rats die from tumor related illness. Therefore, if we could partially or completely elimate tumors, they could theoretically live twice as long. Other small mammals, such as squirrels, can live up to twenty years in captivity.

1.-Bad genes cause so many problems. Rats and other rodents have been intentionally bred to have bad genes so they can be used in laboratory tests. Solution? Ratteries/ratterys need new blood. Rat breeders should go to a farm, trap some of the wild rats- the farmer would be grateful for this! Bring the rats back and have them inter-breed with the domesticated ones. Then breed these offspring to more domestics until you are back to a rat that looks and acts like a regular domestic- it should only take a few generations. This has been done with cats and also with dogs. Cats have been bred to several different species even ones they did not originally descend from and it has resulted in increased vigor and health (also in wild instincts and the need for a raw meat diet, but when crossed over 3 generations to regular cats they begin to act like "normal" pets.) Look up the "sulimov" dog breed. It is originated from dogs that were bred to jackals. These dogs are used in police work because of their superior intelligience and sense of smell. I think rats would benefit largely from new blood just like these species (and others) have done.