Rat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a very proud new owner of two baby boy hairless rats, however, I'm starting to question the skills of the pet shop employee as one of my boys has huge testicles and the other doesn't appear to have much there at all.

Luckily, Jasper (the girl/boy in question) has been very co-operative and I have managed to take quite a high res picture of his/her bits. Can you help me sex him/her, I'm new to rats so help is needed!!

Please click here if the image does not load or to see it in full size!. Thanks for your help!

·
Registered
106 Posts
Yeah, those are nipples. And no testes in sight. That is definitely a girl. Separate them right away, and pray to god she isn't already pregnant!

·
Registered
814 Posts
I believe you have a little girl there... The nipples scream girl lol. I can sort of see how the spacing might get confusing but in this pic. She aprears to be a girl.

http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?cls=18&cat=1804&articleid=2584

Your female isn't as close as this female but it's also a mouse lol. SO I can see why it might be confusing.

EDIT: Yep boys don't have nipples :p, it also says that in the link above :D.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Are you sure its not possible that its a boy? Human men have nipples surely!? I am devastated I've grown so attached, I posted the same question on Yahoo answers and someone has said they think its a boy

·
Registered
106 Posts
Unfortunately that is not a human, it is a rat.

I am 100% positive that male rats do not have nipples. Trust me. That is a GIRL.

If they are over 7 weeks of age, chances are she is a pregnant girl.

Also -- if you can see the testicles clearly on your other male, you know what they look like... I'm not sure how you can be confused. :?

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #10