Rat Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, my name is Rae, I'm a university student studying music and I got two pet rats this year. I'd never owned a rodent before so I only got one rat first (to make sure I could look after a rat, and bc I didn't realize they needed to be in pairs - I did a lot of my reading after I'd bought him). I also learned a few months ago that I'm allergic to my rats (which explains why my "seasonal" allergies were particularly bad this year..) but I was already too attached to them to just give them away, so I'm just suffering through it.. (It's not unbearable until I clean the cages - then I feel awful...)

Here's Clause the first day I got him.  Every day after school I'd come home and put him in the sweater of my pocket so he could feel safe (hiding in the pocket) but I could also pet him and he could get used to me. He cleans himself (and Ivan, when I got him) religiously, and loves pushing around bedding. He's also fairly low energy and can sit still a lot longer than Ivan can. (He's also a more comfortable with water than Ivan, so the few baths I've given him haven't been as difficult as bathing Ivan..)

This is Ivan the first day I got him. Even just comparing the two images, there's a decent age difference. It really didn't seem to be a problem until Ivan his puberty, but I'll touch on that in a sec. Ivan is much more curious than Clause, but when I would let them both out, Ivan would sniff around and Clause would kind of trudge along behind him, so I think it was really good for him to have somebody to explore with. Ivan likes to chew on boxes and explore outside of the cage. He handles strangers a lot better than Clause (who basically will just hide from strangers).