Rat Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The trouble with being a college student is having to stay at home to keep the bills from outpacing my salary. The trouble with staying at home is mom having hypochondria of the "everyone else has it" variety.
I've been keeping rats for seven years, and I know perfectly well that when a rat has sharp claws, and then decides to scramble across your neck six hundred times, that the skin is going to get red and irritated. My mom used to know this too, until the idea got planted in her head that I might be allergic.
We have a good friend who loves horses, dogs, cats, rats, spiders, fish, and anything else in the animal kingdom. She has always loved my rats, so whenever she visits I always bring them out to say hello, and usually they wind up inside her shirt. A few months ago she noticed the recent scratches on my arm from one of my back-heavy boys losing his balance and scrambling madly to avoid plunging to the ground. She made an innocent comment about it potentially being an allergic reaction, which I quickly dismissed due to being thoroughly familiar with how rat scratches behave.
My mom, on the other hand, took that idea and twisted it around and around and around until she had decided, without any testing of any sort, that I was allergic. There are no two ways about it, in her mind, she knows beyond a shadow of a doubt that these "symptoms", that have been showing up since the first time I plopped one of our furry friends onto my shoulder, that I have a "serious allergy" to my rats.