Rat Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Just after some advice, i am going to be getting my first rat hopefully very soon.

but i was wondering where the best places to get them from? ive been told and read its best to go straight to a breeder. on average how much do breeders charge?
and is it better to get 2 females or 2 males? i'm obviously getting 2 of the same sex to keep each other company.

thanks

·
Registered
97 Posts
Hi Gen-Cat
Welcome to the wonderful world of ratties. I have some suggestions that you may like, but please keep in mind that I am a newbie too! Depending on your location, you may want to see if you have a rat rescue. You can visit that and see if you can find a nice rattie who needs a good home. If you do not have a rat rescue, then a reputable breeder is better than a petshop. However, there are some good pet shops out there that have some great rats. Of course, in my oppinion, I try to rescue those poor unfortunate ratties stuck in petshops. That way I know they will be loved and not food.

As for girls versus boys, they say boys are more affectionate than girls, but I have 2 girls that are very very affetionate. My girls love to play and roughhouse and ride on my shoulder EVERYWHERE I go. So, I think that the rats you pick will be exactly the rats you will want.

GOOD LUCK

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
You could also try Petfinder.com to see if there are any rats up for adoption in your area at regular shelters, if you're not near a rat rescue. Giving an animal a second chance at a happy life is a wonderful thing.

Or Craigslist or Kajiji. I got a girl off Craigslist and she has been a wonderful addition to my little mischief.

However, since these will be your first rats, you may prefer to go to a breeder. Pedigreed rats have less health issues, and are friendly right off the bat since they have been socialized since birth. You would also get to pick out your own colors,